This webpage has information and resources you can use to recover from the Spring Severe Weather and Flooding Event that began on April 26, 2024.

State and local partners continue to encourage the public to call 2-1-1, visit the 211 website, and monitor local media outlets for alerts and identification of resources.

Report damage

When you report property damage using iSTAT, you help emergency management officials have a better understanding of the damages that have occurred.

State Disaster Declaration

Governor Abbott made a state Disaster Declaration.

  • April 30, 2024 declaration (29 counties): Baylor, Chambers, Dickens, Ellis, Freestone, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Haskell, Hill, Hood, Hunt, Kaufman, Knox, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Madison, McLennan, Montgomery, Navarro, Polk, San Jacinto, Somervell, Tarrant, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, and Wichita Counties.
  • May 2, 2024 amendment (added 59 counties): Anderson, Angelina, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Bosque, Brazos, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Cherokee, Colorado, Comal, Coryell, DeWitt, Falls, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Gregg, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Hardin, Hays, Henderson, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Llano, Mason, Medina, Milam, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Panola, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Travis, Van Zandt, Waller, Washington, Williamson, and Wilson Counties.
  • May 15, 2024 amendment (added 6 counties): Brown, Concho, McCulloch, Menard, San Saba, and Sutton Counties
  • May 20, 2024 amendment (added 4 counties): Calhoun, Delta, Jones, and Lamar Counties
  • May 26, 2024 amendment (added 4 counties): Denton, Montague, Cooke, and Collin Counties
  • May 31, 2024 amendment (added 5 counties): Dallas, Fannin, Hockley, Lynn, and Rockwall Counties
  • June 5, 2024 amendment (added 6 counties): Bailey, Bowie, Cass, Midland, Red River, and Terrell Counties
  • June 13, 2024 amendment (added 2 counties): Hopkins and Titus Counties

Federal Disaster Declaration

Gov. Abbott’s request for a Federal Major Disaster Declaration was approved by President Biden. More information about the federal disaster declaration is available at FEMA DR 4781.

Individual Assistance is available in 35 counties: Austin, Bell, Calhoun, Collin, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Falls, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Henderson, Hockley, Jasper, Jones, Kaufman, Lamar, Leon, Liberty, Montague, Montgomery, Navarro, Newton, Polk, San Jacinto, Smith, Terrell, Trinity, Tyler, Van Zandt, Walker, and Waller. The deadline to apply for Individual Assistance has been extended to August 15, 2024.

FEMA is operating multiple Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs). DRCs provide disaster survivors with information from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration. Disaster survivors can get help applying for federal assistance, learn about the types of assistance available, learn about the appeals process and get updates on applications.

Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans may be available to homeowners, renters, and businesses of all sizes in areas covered by the SBA disaster declaration. Please note that the SBA coverage area (PDF) includes many more counties than the 35 counties that are eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance. The deadline for Physical Damage filing has been extended to August 15, 2024. The deadline for Economic Injury filing is February 18, 2025.

The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is now accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) as a result of the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding that began on April 26. The deadline to apply for DUA has been extended to August 15, 2024.

If your durable medical equipment (DME) or assistive technology (AT), sometimes called an adaptive aid (AA), was lost or damaged in the severe weather event, see the Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities’ Replacing Durable Medical Equipment and Assistive Technology Lost in Disasters.

The United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) makes low-interest physical loss loans available to help producers repair or replace damaged or destroyed physical property essential to the success of the agricultural operation, including livestock losses. Examples of property commonly affected include essential farm buildings, fixtures to real estate, equipment, livestock, perennial crops, fruit and nut bearing trees, and harvested or stored crops and hay. The deadline to apply is February 10, 2025.

FEMA resources

Local information & resources

Offices of Emergency Management (OEM)

Housing Authorities

Listed below are links for some of the housing authorities for the affected areas. You can also see a list of housing counseling locations in Texas or contact one of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s offices in Texas.

See the Public Housing Authority Contacts Report (PDF) for contact information for local public housing authorities in Texas.

Debris (Public Works)

  • City of Houston Debris Clean up: For Crisis Clean up, call 832-509-2977.
  • Harris County: In the aftermath of severe flooding, Harris County residents dealing with debris cleanup can now take advantage of assistance from the Office of Emergency Management. The county has launched a dedicated hotline, 713-274-3880, along with an email address, homeflooding@harriscountytx.gov, to simplify the pickup process.


For updates about power outages, visit PowerOutage.us or the CenterPoint Outage Tracker.


For information about finding shelter, see TDEM’s Seasonal Relief Centers and Shelter Information or visit the American Red Cross’s Find Open Shelters page.

Damaged or lost food

SNAP recipients who lost food can no longer apply for reimbursement. The deadline to apply was June 30, 2024.

Learn more about Disaster Nutrition Assistance for this severe weather event.

Legal resources